GPHG 2015 : 15th watchmaking “Oscars” ceremony

On October 29th 2015 at the Grand Théâtre de Genève, the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève revealed the names of the 2015 prize-winners honored in 12 categories and by 6 special prizes. The international jury of 26 experts chaired by Aurel Bacs placed the emphasis firmly on diversity, daring and exclusivity. The “Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix won by Breguet last year was presented by its vice-president Jean-Charles Zufferey to Stephen Forsey of Greubel Forsey. The ceremony, attended by Federal Councilor Alain Berset (pictured below), was the culmination of a four-month, three-phase process, as well as an itinerant exhibition of the 72 pre-selected watches (six per category, already singled out at that stage) that made stopovers in Hong Kong, Macau, Seoul and Dubai. The prize-winners were then exhibited at the SalonQP in London. Check out the analysis by the editorial team and the selections for each category in the GPHG feature on 

Brice Lechevalier is editor-in-chief of GMT and Skippers, which he co-founded in 2000 and 2001 respectively. He has also been CEO of WorldTempus since it joined the GMT Publishing stable, of which he is director and joint shareholder. In 2012 he created the Geneva Watch Tour, and he has been an advisor to the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève since 2011. Also closely involved in sailing, he has published the magazine of the Société Nautique de Genève since 2003, and was one of the founders of the SUI Sailing Awards in 2009 and the Concours d’Elégance for motor boats at the Cannes Yachting Festival in 2015.

Review overview