Zoom : GPHG An excellent 2017 vintage

In terms of both form and substance, the 2017 edition of the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève was spot on target. Carlo Lamprecht can hand over the Presidency of the Foundation with the satisfaction of having amply fulfilled his duties.

The prize-giving ceremony that took place on November 8th at the Théâtre du Léman in Geneva set the crowning touch to an extremely successful GPHG season. It began in spring with the announcement that the jury was evolving and would comprise 28 international experts ; while the summer brought the unveiling of the 72 pre-selected watches covering 12 categories and chosen from 200 candidate models submitted by 80 brands. It continued with an international exhibition on the three main continents and a superb initiative launched by Carine Maillard (director of the GPHG), which enabled the public to admire the selection with no glass casing at the Geneva Museum of Art and History, as well as enjoying educational workshops run by the Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie. On November 8th, the ceremony was punctuated by the laureates’ touching or sharp-witted acceptance speeches, humorously accompanied by the actor Edouard Baer and former Miss Switzerland, Lauriane Gilliéron. When State Councillor Pierre Maudet announced on stage that Carlo Lamprecht was handing over his role to Raymond Loretan (see our Business News column), the audience gave the outgoing President of the GPHG Foundation a standing ovation. The prize list turned out to be the most aptly chosen for many years. Bulgari, Chopard and Parmigiani distinguished themselves by winning prizes in two categories. The ensuing cocktail party and gala dinner were particularly festive. See the complete report on worldtempus.com

Untitled collage (2)

THEY ALL RECEIVED TWO PRIZES THIS YEAR : Jean- Christophe Babin (CEO), Guido Terreni (CEO Horlogerie) and Fabrizio Buonamassa Stigliani (designer) for Bulgari ; Steve Amstutz (VP Marketing & Sales) and Michel Parmigiani for Parmigiani ; along with Caroline Scheufele (co-president in charge of Jewelry) and Karl-Friedrich Scheufele (co-president in charge of Watchmaking) for Chopard.



GMT_n55_Fra_ipad-433“Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix : Chopard, L.U.C Full Strike

Ladies’ Watch Prize : Chanel, Première Squelette Camélia

Ladies’ High-Mech Watch Prize : Van Cleef & Arpels, Lady Arpels Papillon Automate

Men’s Watch Prize : Bvlgari, Octo Finissimo Automatic

Chronograph Watch Prize : Parmigiani Fleurier, Tonda Chronor Anniversaire

Tourbillon and Escapement Watch Prize : Bvlgari, Octo Finissimo Tourbillon Squelette

Calendar Watch Prize : Greubel Forsey, QP à Équation

Travel Time Watch Prize : Parmigiani Fleurier, Toric Hemisphères Rétrograde

Mechanical Exception Watch Prize : Vacheron Constantin, Les Cabinotiers Celestia Astronomical Grand Complication 3600

“Petite Aiguille” Prize : Tudor, Black Bay Chrono

Sports Watch Prize : Ulysse Nardin, Marine Regatta

Jewellery Watch Prize : Chopard, Montre Lotus Blanc

Artistic Crafts Watch Prize : Voutilainen, Aki-No-Kure

Revival Watch Prize : Longines, The Longines Avigation BigEye

Innovation Watch Prize : Zenith, Defy Lab

Special Jury Prize : Suzanne Rohr et Anita Porchet

Brice Lechevalier is editor-in-chief of GMT and Skippers, which he co-founded in 2000 and 2001 respectively. He has also been CEO of WorldTempus since it joined the GMT Publishing stable, of which he is director and joint shareholder. In 2012 he created the Geneva Watch Tour, and he has been an advisor to the Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève since 2011. Also closely involved in sailing, he has published the magazine of the Société Nautique de Genève since 2003, and was one of the founders of the SUI Sailing Awards in 2009 and the Concours d’Elégance for motor boats at the Cannes Yachting Festival in 2015.

Review overview